Ensuring Equity in Ontario's Education System

Ensuring equity is a central goal of Ontario's publicly funded education system, as set out in Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario (2014). It stems from a fundamental principle that every student should have the opportunity to succeed, regardless of background, identity or personal circumstances.

Equity is also connected to all of the elements of the ministry's vision for education, from achieving excellence to promoting well-being and enhancing public confidence in our education system. It is a critical component of the student experience, and it's at the core of our commitment to the success of every student and child in Ontario.

Education Equity Action Plan

In September 2017, Ontario launched its Education Equity Action Plan to serve as the province's blueprint for identifying and eliminating discriminatory practices, systemic barriers and biases from schools and classrooms. This action plan will build on the ministry's 2009 Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy, bringing new focus and resources to bear as a means of accelerating our progress.

Systemic barriers are caused by embedded biases in policies, practices and processes, and may result in differential treatment. The impact of these barriers is detrimental for many and can have lasting consequences. When factors such as race, class, gender identity, religion, and physical or intellectual ability intersect, they can create additional barriers and unique experiences of discrimination for some students.

The action plan will unfold over three years — beginning with the 2017-18 school year — and bring together parents, educators, principals, board staff, trustees and community leaders who will bring it to life.

To help implement the action plan, the ministry has created the Education Equity Secretariat. The secretariat will work to bridge gaps and address disparities in achievement for Ontario's students through new policies, resources and program options, and with realistic goals that will help all students.

The key components

The key components of Ontario's Education Equity Action Plan include enhancing:

  • School and Classroom Practices by ensuring that they reflect and respond to the diversity of all students and staff.
  • Leadership, Governance and Human Resource Practices by ensuring that the diversity of the teachers, staff and school system leaders in Ontario schools reflect the diversity of their students, and that those education leaders are committed to equity for all learners and to upholding and promoting human rights.
  • Data Collection, Integration and Reporting by collecting and analyzing demographic data to gain a clearer understanding of who Ontario's students and staff are, which will enable our school and system leaders to more precisely address the barriers to student success through data-informed decision-making.
  • Organizational Culture Change by applying an equity, inclusion and human rights perspective to the Ministry of Education's internal organizational structures, policies, programs and practices. The Ministry of Education will become an example of diversity, equity, and inclusion, and demonstrate our commitment to upholding and promoting human rights.

Ontario's vision for education is about creating the best possible experience for staff, educators and students. The result of this work will be positive learning environments where student achievement, well-being and equity are the top priority.

Additional Reading

Progress on Status of Equity Action Plan Commitments

Since September 2017, the Ministry of Education has made great strides towards meeting the commitments set out in the Education Equity Action Plan, including an enhanced focus on equity and inclusive education to be reflected in the 2018‑19 Parents Reaching Out (PRO) Grants cycle.

The Education Equity Secretariat is pleased to share some of the progress being made in the second half of the 2017‑18 school year.

School and classroom practices

  • The ministry is working with 13 school board teams to support the implementation of Culturally Responsive and Relevant Pedagogy (CRRP) initiatives that aims to ensure more students feel reflected in their learning. These initiatives are intended to address equity issues that are a priority at the local level. A further 12 school boards are on a waiting list to engage in CRRP initiatives during the 2018/19 school year.

    Participating school boards include:

    • Conseil des écoles publiques de l'Est de l'Ontario
    • Durham District School Board
    • Halton District School Board
    • Lakehead District School Board
    • Near North District School Board
    • Ottawa Catholic School Board
    • Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
    • Peel District School Board
    • PVNCC DSB
    • Sudbury Catholic District School Board
    • Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board
    • Waterloo Region District School Board
    • Wellington Catholic District School Board
  • In November 2017, the Education Equity Secretariat, in partnership with Facing History and Ourselves, launched a province-wide webinar, entitled When Hate is in the Headlines. This learning opportunity offered over 400 elementary and secondary educators practical, hands-on strategies designed to help navigate important conversations about race and other social identities in the classroom.
  • Regionally based equity networks bring school boards together to support efforts to address equity priorities that are connected to board and school improvement plans, including multi-year strategic plans. These networks are tailored to address local needs, and will identify and implement projects that target discriminatory biases and systemic barriers that limit students' well-being and achievement. The regional Equity Networks include the six English-language Networks, based on the locations of the ministry's regional offices, and one provincial French-language Network responsible for supporting Ontario's French-language school boards. All 72 school boards are affiliated with one of these Networks. The equity networks support school boards and school communities to build upon and embed cultures of equity and human rights in all aspects of board and school practices, policies, programs and operations. This year, the ministry is investing over $800,000 and supporting 60 projects across the French language network, Toronto, Barrie, London, Ottawa-Carleton, Thunder Bay and Sudbury Near North regions.

Leadership, governance, and human resource practices

  • The first round of intensive two-day professional development training programs for trustees on human rights, ethical leadership and good governance took place in February 2018. The next round of sessions will take place in 2019 after the next school board elections. These sessions were developed with the help of an advisory committee of trustees and staff from the four trustee associations, including two First Nations trustees.
  • The ministry is committed to establishing formal human rights support structures in schools and school boards. These structures may include dedicated staff to resolve human rights complaints or concerns, and provisions to assist building cultures of respect in school boards.
  • As part of capacity building with ministry staff, the Education Equity Secretariat established a speakers series which will provide an opportunity for staff to hear from a range of speakers on systemic barriers in education. The first of the series took place in January 2018, and featured Tanya Talaga, author of Seven Fallen Feathers: Racism, Death and Hard Truths in a Northern City.
  • Engagements are ongoing with Supervisory Officer Associations and Director of Education Councils to discuss revising the guideline for Supervisory Officer Performance Appraisals (SOPA). This is part of the province's commitment to enhance accountability for equity and human rights in principal, vice-principal, and supervisory officer performance appraisals. Implementation supports for revised performance appraisals will be developed in time for release in Fall of the 2018-19 school year. Directors of Education are also responsible for reporting on how they are holding school and system leaders accountable for progress towards the board's goals for equity and inclusion through the director's annual report.
  • The ministry consulted with principals' and supervisory officers' associations on Principal Performance Appraisal Regulation amendments to embed accountability for equity and human rights. The regulatory changes and implementation supports for revised performance appraisals will come into effect in September 2018.

Data collection, integration, and reporting

  • The Education Equity Secretariat continues to engage with district school boards and affiliates that are participating in the first phase, to leverage their expertise and interest in relation to the collection of voluntary identity-based student data. This collaborative engagement includes staff and researchers from participating boards to help develop a consistent approach to data collection, which will include considerations such as technical capabilities and uniformity with respect to the data categories, such as socio-economic status and ethnicity. This work will inform the process for collection of voluntary student data that will be applied across the province.

    School boards participating in the first phase, include:

    • Avon Maitland District School Board
    • Conseil des écoles publiques de l'Est de l'Ontario
    • Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir
    • Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board
    • Durham Catholic District School Board
    • Durham District School Board
    • Huron Perth Catholic District School Board
    • Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board
    • Keewatin-Patricia District School Board
    • Kenora Catholic District School Board
    • Ottawa Catholic School Board
    • Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
    • Peel District School Board
    • Toronto Catholic District School Board
    • Toronto District School Board
    • York Region District School Board
    • York Catholic District School Board

Organizational cultural change

  • The first meeting of the Expert Equity Community Advisory Group will take place in March 2018. The purpose of this advisory group is to serve as resource for the Education Equity Secretariat and school board communities on the implementation of action plan items within the sector.

There is still a great deal of work to do, but the Ontario government is working tirelessly with education and community partners to make sure that all students across the province feel supported. Ensuring equity is a necessary foundation for improving student achievement, promoting student and staff well-being, and enhancing confidence in the publicly funded school system.

Links to other Related Policies

Assurer l'équité dans le système d'éducation de l'Ontario

Assurer l'équité est un objectif central du système d'éducation financé par les fonds publics de l'Ontario, tel qu'indiqué dans Atteindre l'excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l'éducation en Ontario (2014). Cet objectif s'appuie sur le principe fondamental selon lequel chaque élève devrait avoir la possibilité de réussir, peu importe son lieu d'origine, son identité ou sa situation personnelle.

L'équité est également liée à tous les éléments qui composent la vision du Ministère en matière d'éducation, de l'atteinte de l'excellence à la promotion du bien-être et au rehaussement de la confiance du public dans notre système d'éducation. Elle est une composante primordiale de l'expérience de l'élève et se trouve au cœur de notre engagement à favoriser la réussite de chaque élève et chaque enfant en Ontario.

Plan d'action pour l'équité en matière d'éducation

En septembre 2017, l'Ontario a lancé son Plan d'action pour l'équité en matière d'éducation qui est la feuille de route dont la province s'est dotée pour cerner et éliminer les pratiques discriminatoires, les obstacles systémiques et les préjugés dans les écoles et les salles de classe. Reposant sur la Stratégie ontarienne d'équité et d'éducation inclusive de 2009 du Ministère, ce plan propose une nouvelle orientation et de nouvelles ressources qui contribueront à accélérer nos progrès.

Les obstacles systémiques sont causés par des préjugés ancrés dans les politiques, les pratiques et les processus, et ils peuvent entraîner des traitements discriminatoires. Ces obstacles peuvent avoir des effets nuisibles à long terme sur de nombreux élèves. Quand des facteurs comme la race, la classe, l'identité sexuelle, la religion et les capacités physiques ou intellectuelles s'entrecroisent, ils peuvent générer de nouveaux obstacles et des situations uniques de discrimination pour certains élèves.

Ce plan d'action se déroulera sur trois ans – à compter de l'année scolaire 2017-2018, et alliera les parents, les éducatrices et éducateurs, les directrices et directeurs d'école, le personnel des conseils scolaires, les conseillères et conseillers scolaires et les leaders des collectivités, qui vont lui donner vie.

Afin de contribuer à la mise en œuvre du plan, le Ministère a fondé le Secrétariat de l'équité en matière d'éducation. Le Secrétariat a comme objectif de réduire les écarts et de régler les disparités en matière de rendement chez les élèves de l'Ontario en proposant de nouvelles politiques, ressources et options de programmes, ainsi qu'en établissant des objectifs réalistes qui aideront tous les élèves.

Principales composantes

Les principales composantes du Plan d'action ontarien pour l'équité en matière d'éducation comprennent l'amélioration :

  • des pratiques à l'école et en salle classe, en veillant à ce qu'elles soient le reflet de la diversité des élèves et du personnel.
  • des pratiques en matière de leadership, de gouvernance et de ressources humaines, en veillant à ce que la diversité des enseignantes et enseignants, du personnel, des leaders scolaires et des leaders du système reflète la diversité des élèves dans les écoles de l'Ontario, et que ces leaders de l'éducation soient déterminés à assurer l'équité pour tous les apprenants et à protéger et promouvoir les droits de la personne.
  • de la collecte de données, l'intégration et la production de rapports, en collectant et analysant des données démographiques pour comprendre plus clairement qui sont les élèves et le personnel des écoles de l'Ontario, ce qui permettra aux leaders des écoles et aux leaders du système de mieux cibler les obstacles à la réussite des élèves grâce à une prise de décision fondée sur des données.
  • du changement de la culture organisationnelle, en appliquant les principes d'équité, d'inclusion et de droits de la personne aux structures organisationnelles, aux politiques, aux programmes et aux pratiques internes du ministère de l'Éducation. Le Ministère deviendra un modèle de diversité, d'équité et d'inclusion et démontrera son engagement à protéger et à promouvoir les droits de la personne.

La vision de l'Ontario en matière d'éducation est d'offrir la meilleure expérience possible au personnel des écoles, aux éducatrices et éducateurs et aux élèves. Ce travail permettra la création de milieux d'apprentissage positifs dans lesquels le rendement et le bien-être des élèves ainsi que l'équité seront les principales priorités.

Lectures complémentaires

Progrès des engagements pris dans le cadre du Plan d'action pour l'équité

Depuis septembre 2017, le ministère de l'Éducation a fait de grandes avancées en vue d'atteindre les objectifs fixés dans le cadre du Plan d'action pour l'équité en matière d'éducation, notamment en insistant davantage sur l'équité et l'éducation inclusive dans le cycle 2018-2019 des Subventions pour la participation et l'engagement des parents.

Le Secrétariat de l'équité en matière d'éducation est heureux de vous communiquer quelques-uns des progrès en cours de réalisation dans la seconde moitié de l'année scolaire 2017-2018.

Pratiques à l'école et en salle de classe

  • Le Ministère collabore avec 13 équipes de conseils scolaires pour appuyer la mise en œuvre d'initiatives employant une pédagogie pertinente et sensible à la culture, qui vise à s'assurer que davantage d'élèves se reconnaissent dans l'enseignement qui leur est dispensé. Ces initiatives sont destinées à répondre aux questions en matière d'équité qui sont une priorité à l'échelle locale. Durant l'année scolaire 2018-2019, 12 autres conseils scolaires qui sont inscrits sur une liste d'attente participeront à de telles initiatives.

    Les conseils scolaires participant sont les suivants :

    • Conseil des écoles publiques de l'Est de l'Ontario
    • Durham District School Board
    • Halton District School Board
    • Lakehead District School Board
    • Near North District School Board
    • Ottawa Catholic School Board
    • Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
    • Peel District School Board
    • PVNCC DSB
    • Sudbury Catholic District School Board
    • Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board
    • Waterloo Region District School Board
    • Wellington Catholic District School Board
  • En novembre 2017, le Secrétariat de l'équité en matière d'éducation, en partenariat avec Facing History and Ourselves, a lancé un webinaire provincial intitulé When Hate is in the Headlines (quand la haine est inscrite dans les manchettes). Grâce à cette occasion d'apprentissage, plus de 400 éducatrices et éducateurs des paliers élémentaire et secondaire ont pris connaissance de stratégies pratiques conçues pour les aider à gérer les débats importants sur la race et l'identité sociale en salle de classe.
  • Les réseaux d'équité régionaux permettent aux conseils scolaires d'unir leurs efforts pour donner suite aux priorités en matière d'équité en relation avec leurs plans d'amélioration et ceux des écoles, notamment les plans stratégiques pluriannuels. Ces réseaux sont conçus pour répondre aux besoins locaux ainsi que pour cerner et mettre en œuvre des projets visant l'élimination des préjugés discriminatoires et des obstacles systémiques qui entravent le bien-être et la réussite des élèves. Les réseaux d'équité régionaux comprennent les six réseaux régionaux de langue anglaise, implantés dans les bureaux régionaux du Ministère, et un réseau provincial de langue française, responsable du soutien aux conseils scolaires de langue française. Chacun des 72 conseils scolaires est affilié à l'un de ces réseaux. Les réseaux d'équité aident les conseils et les communautés scolaires à développer une culture de l'équité et des droits de la personne et à l'intégrer dans tous les aspects de leurs pratiques, politiques, programmes et activités. Cette année, le Ministère prévoit d'investir plus de 800 000 dollars afin d'appuyer 60 projets dans les régions de Toronto, de Barrie, de London, d'Ottawa–Carleton, de Thunder Bay et de Sudbury Near North.

Pratiques en matière de leadership, de gouvernance et de ressources humaines

  • Le premier cycle des programmes de formation intensive de deux jours pour le perfectionnement professionnel des conseillères et conseillers scolaires en matière de droits de la personne, de leadership éthique et de gouvernance efficace a eu lieu en février 2018. Le prochain cycle se tiendra en 2019, après les prochaines élections des conseillères et conseillers scolaires. Ces séances ont été conçues avec l'aide d'un comité consultatif composé de conseillères et de conseillers scolaires et de membres du personnel de leurs quatre associations, dont deux membres des Premières Nations.
  • Le Ministère s'est engagé à créer des structures officielles de soutien aux droits de la personne dans les écoles et les conseils scolaires, appuyées par du personnel affecté au traitement des plaintes et à la résolution des problèmes liés aux droits de la personne. Ces structures pourraient également inclure des dispositions visant à créer une culture de respect dans les conseils scolaires.
  • Dans le cadre du renforcement de la capacité du personnel du Ministère, le Secrétariat de l'équité en matière d'éducation a mis sur pied une série de conférences qui permettront au personnel de connaître les points de vue d'intervenantes et intervenants divers sur les obstacles systémiques en éducation. La première conférence a été offerte en janvier 2018 par Tanya Talaga, auteure de Seven Fallen Feathers : Racism, Death and Hard Truths in a Northern City (sept plumes tombées : racisme, mort et dures réalités d'une ville du Nord).
  • Des discussions sont en cours avec les associations des agentes et agents de supervision et les conseils des directions de l'éducation au sujet de la révision des lignes directrices visant l'évaluation du rendement des agentes et agents de supervision. Cette révision s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'engagement de la province envers le renforcement de la responsabilisation en matière d'équité et de droits de la personne dans l'évaluation du rendement des directions d'école et des directions adjointes ainsi que des agentes et agents de supervision. Des guides sur la mise en œuvre du nouveau processus d'évaluation seront élaborés et publiés d'ici l'automne de l'année scolaire 2018-2019. Par ailleurs, les directions de l'éducation sont tenues de rendre compte, dans leur rapport annuel, des mesures mises en place afin de responsabiliser les leaders du système et les leaders scolaires en ce qui a trait aux progrès réalisés dans l'atteinte des objectifs des conseils scolaires en matière d'équité et d'inclusion.
  • Le Ministère a consulté les associations de directions d'école et d'agentes et agents de supervision sur les modifications à la réglementation relative à l'évaluation du rendement des directions d'école pour y intégrer la responsabilisation en matière d'équité et de droits de la personne. Les modifications à la réglementation et les mécanismes de soutien à la mise en œuvre de la révision des lignes directrices concernant l'évaluation du rendement entreront en vigueur en septembre 2018.

Collecte de données, intégration et production de rapports

  • Le Secrétariat de l'équité en matière d'éducation continue de collaborer avec les conseils scolaires de district et les organismes affiliés qui participent à la première phase pour mettre à profit leur expertise et leurs intérêts en matière de collecte de données sur l'identité des élèves fournies sur une base volontaire. Ce partenariat, qui inclut des membres du personnel et des chercheuses et chercheurs des conseils scolaires participants, vise à définir une méthode uniforme de collecte de données qui tiendra compte de divers paramètres, tels que les capacités techniques et l'uniformisation des catégories de données (p. ex., statut socio-économique et origine ethnique). Ce travail permettra d'orienter une méthode pour la collecte des données sur les élèves fournies sur une base volontaire, qui pourra être mise en œuvre à l'échelle de la province.

    Noms des conseils scolaires participant à la première phase :

    • Avon Maitland District School Board
    • Conseil des écoles publiques de l'Est de l'Ontario
    • Conseil scolaire catholique MonAvenir
    • Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board
    • Durham Catholic District School Board
    • Durham District School Board
    • Huron Perth Catholic District School Board
    • Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board
    • Keewatin-Patricia District School Board
    • Kenora Catholic District School Board
    • Ottawa Catholic School Board
    • Ottawa-Carleton District School Board
    • Peel District School Board
    • Toronto Catholic District School Board
    • Toronto District School Board
    • York Region District School Board
    • York Catholic District School Board

Changement de la culture organisationnelle

  • La première rencontre du Groupe consultatif communautaire d'experts en matière d'équité aura lieu en mars 2018. Ce groupe servira de ressource pour le Secrétariat de l'équité en matière d'éducation et les collectivités des conseils scolaires et les appuiera dans la mise en œuvre des éléments du plan d'action au sein du secteur.

Il reste encore beaucoup de travail à accomplir, mais le gouvernement de l'Ontario travaille sans relâche avec ses partenaires des milieux éducatif et communautaire pour s'assurer que tous les élèves de la province se sentent soutenus. L'équité est une base nécessaire à l'amélioration du rendement des élèves, à la promotion de leur bien-être et de celui du personnel, ainsi qu'au renforcement de la confiance envers le système d'éducation financé par les fonds publics.

Lien vers d'autres politiques