Financial Literacy Education in Ontario Schools

surveyLiteracy

Students in grades 4-12 learn about financial literacy so they can understand how to make informed financial decisions. Financial literacy builds students' understanding of personal finances, the local and global economy and the results of their choices as consumers.

What is financial literacy and why is it important?

Financial literacy means having the knowledge and skills to make responsible economic and financial decisions with confidence. In today's complex world, young people need a wide range of skills and knowledge to make informed choices. Financial literacy will help students to:

  • Carefully consider their financial choices. This can apply to everyday decisions, like buying groceries to bigger investments, like paying for tuition or buying a car.
  • Understand basic money management.
  • Develop their own perspectives on financial matters, such as interest rates, mortgage rules or the Canadian or global economy.
  • Participate fully in society as knowledgeable, responsible citizens who can confidently make decisions about where and how to invest their money.
  • Stay financially stable and healthy throughout life.
  • Understand the impact of economic choices on the world they live in.

Is financial literacy offered to students as a separate course?

No. Financial literacy education is integrated in the existing Ontario curriculum.

How is financial literacy taught in Ontario schools?

Financial literacy is part of the elementary and secondary curriculum in many different subjects such as mathematics, social studies, Canadian and World studies, business studies and many others. In some subjects, students may be learning specific skills such as understanding money, consumer awareness, personal finances, budgeting and money management that will help them develop financial literacy skills. In other subjects, financial literacy connections may be made as students learn about their place in the world, as a responsible and compassionate citizen or when they study different economic systems.

Through the curriculum, students are developing skills in critical thinking, decision-making and problem solving that can be applied to subjects at school and to real life situations. Resources have been developed for teachers to help them connect financial literacy topics across the curriculum to deepen students' learning and make financial literacy more relevant.

How can parents help their children?

As a parent, you're a role model for your child. You have an important and continuing role to play in your child's education from the earliest years through to high school graduation. This is especially true with financial literacy since your child's decisions become more complex and expensive as they get older.

You can encourage the development of their knowledge and skills by discussing financial matters or providing practice in financial decision-making at home. For example, the parent of an elementary student can:

  • Discuss how to save for a purchase, even if it is not large, so your child can understand how and why it's important to plan a purchase.
  • Explain how to make the best buying decisions, e.g. by researching first and comparing different products
  • Point out the financial implications of decisions you make as a family. For example, you can work together to find out the costs of buying and caring for a pet, or the costs of going to a movie or taking a day trip.

The parent of a secondary student can:

  • Explain how decisions about what to buy affect you, your family, your community, Canada and the world. For example, choices to buy certain locally made products, such as locally grown food, can have a positive impact on the local economy.
  • Explore the costs and benefits of saving for purchases and student trips with their children.
  • Discuss how to be a smart consumer by keeping personal information safe when buying online.
  • Go online to Employment Ontario and the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP) for helpful information on planning for postsecondary education and training.

Where can I learn more about financial literacy education?

Learn more about how financial literacy is taught in Ontario schools by:

  • Watching a video that shows the many ways financial literacy is included in the curriculum. The video features students, teachers and parents talking about the importance of financial literacy learning in Ontario schools.
  • Reading the report from the Working Group on Financial Literacy, convened by the Curriculum Council, A Sound Investment: Financial Literacy Education in Ontario Schools.
  • Seeing how financial literacy is incorporated within the existing curriculum. This is explained in the following Scope and Sequence of Expectations documents:

Visit these websites to learn more about financial literacy and financial decision making:

  • GetSmarterAboutMoney.ca has information, tools, quizzes and more to help parents and students make better financial decisions in different areas of life. The website is run by the Investor Education Fund, a non-profit organization established by the Ontario Securities Commission.
  • Financial Consumer Agency of Canada is a federal government agency that gives consumers information about a wide variety of consumer topics
  • Federal Task Force on Financial Literacy has recommendations for financial literacy education that were made to the federal Minister of Finance
  • Canadian Banker's Association has information for parents and students about financial literacy, planning, budgeting and saving.

L'éducation à la littératie financière dans les écoles de l'Ontario

Les élèves de la 4e à la 12e année apprennent la littératie financière afin de pouvoir prendre des décisions éclairées en matière de finances. Grâce à la littératie financière, les élèves comprennent mieux les questions touchant leurs finances personnelles, l'économie aux échelons local et mondial et les répercussions de leurs choix en tant que consommateurs.

Qu'est-ce que la littératie financière? Pourquoi est-ce important?

La littératie financière est l'ensemble des connaissances et des habiletés nécessaires pour prendre des décisions économiques et financières responsables avec assurance. Dans le monde complexe d'aujourd'hui, les jeunes doivent avoir des habiletés et des connaissances étendues pour faire des choix éclairés. La littératie financière aidera les élèves à :

  • Considérer leurs choix financiers de manière prudente, tant les décisions quotidiennes, comme faire l'épicerie, que celles touchant des investissements importants, comme payer des frais de scolarité ou acheter une voiture.
  • Acquérir des compétences de base en gestion de l'argent.
  • Élargir leurs propres perspectives liées aux questions financières telles que les taux d'intérêt, les règles hypothécaires, l'économie du Canada ou du monde.
  • Participer pleinement à la société à titre de citoyennes et de citoyens avertis et responsables qui peuvent prendre des décisions avec confiance sur les façons d'investir leur argent.
  • Rester financièrement stable et assurer leur bien-être tout au long de leur vie.
  • Comprendre les répercussions des choix économiques sur le monde où ils vivent.

L'éducation à la littératie financière fait-elle l'objet d'un cours distinct?

Non. L'éducation à la littératie financière est intégrée au curriculum de l'Ontario.

Comment la littératie financière est-elle enseignée dans les écoles de l'Ontario?

L'éducation à la littératie financière est intégrée dans de nombreuses matières du curriculum de l'élémentaire et du secondaire : mathématiques, études sociales, études canadiennes et mondiales, affaires et commerce et plusieurs autres. Dans certaines matières, les élèves acquièrent des habiletés particulières qui les aident à améliorer leurs compétences en littératie financière – telles que comprendre les questions d'argent, se conscientiser en tant que consommateurs, gérer ses finances personnelles, établir un budget et gérer l'argent. D'autres matières fournissent aussi des occasions d'apprentissage, par exemple lorsque les élèves étudient des sujets comme leur place dans le monde en tant que citoyens responsables et compatissants ou lorsqu'ils étudient différents systèmes économiques.

Par le biais du curriculum, les élèves apprennent à développer une pensée critique, à prendre des décisions et à résoudre des problèmes – des habiletés qu'ils peuvent mettre en pratique à l'école et dans des situations de leur vie courante. Des ressources sont mises à la disposition des enseignants pour les aider à intégrer la littératie financière dans tout le curriculum afin d'approfondir l'apprentissage des élèves et de souligner la pertinence de la littératie financière.

Comment les parents peuvent-ils aider leurs enfants?

Les parents servent de modèles à leurs enfants. En tant que parents, vous jouez un rôle important dans l'éducation de vos enfants, depuis leur plus jeune âge. C'est d'autant plus vrai qu'à mesure que vos enfants grandissent ils seront appelés à prendre des décisions plus complexes et à utiliser des sommes élevées.

Vous pouvez aider vos enfants à élargir leurs connaissances et leurs compétences en discutant avec eux de questions financières et en les faisant participer aux décisions pécuniaires à la maison. Par exemple, le parent d'un élève de l'élémentaire peut :

  • montrer comment épargner en vue d'un achat, si petit qu'il soit, pour que l'enfant comprenne l'importance de planifier en vue d'une dépense;
  • expliquer à l'enfant comment prendre les meilleures décisions d'achat, par exemple en faisant des recherches et des comparaisons;
  • souligner les incidences des décisions que vous prenez en tant que famille. Vous pouvez  par exemple établir ensemble ce qu'il vous en coûtera si vous adoptez un animal domestique, si vous allez au cinéma ou si vous faites une excursion d'une journée.

Le parent d'un élève du secondaire peut :

  • expliquer à l'enfant que ses achats ont des incidences sur lui-même, sur sa famille, sur sa collectivité, sur le Canada et sur le monde. Par exemple, si on décide d'acheter des produits locaux, comme des aliments cultivés localement, il y aura des effets positifs sur l'économie locale;
  • examiner les coûts et les avantages d'épargner en prévision d'achats et de voyages;
  • montrer comment être un consommateur averti, par exemple en faisant attention à ses informations personnelles quand on fait des achats en ligne;
  • visiter les sites Web d'Emploi Ontario et du Régime d'aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l'Ontario, où l'on trouve des renseignements utiles pour la planification de l'éducation et de la formation postsecondaires.

Comment les parents peuvent-ils en savoir plus sur l'éducation à la littératie financière?

Pour en savoir plus sur l'éducation à la littératie financière dans les écoles de l'Ontario :

Pour en savoir plus sur la littératie financière et la prise de décisions en matière de finances :

  • GérezMieuxVotreArgent.ca est un site Web de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario. Il contient des informations, des outils et des jeux-questionnaires qui aideront les parents et les élèves à prendre de meilleures décisions financières tout au long de leur vie.
  • L'Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada est un organisme fédéral qui renseigne les consommateurs sur une grande variété de sujets liés à la consommation.
  • Le Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière a présenté des recommandations au ministre fédéral des Finances concernant l'éducation à la littératie financière.
  • Le site de l'Association des banquiers canadiens cba.ca/fr offre des recommandations aux parents et aux élèves sur la littératie financière, la planification, le budget et l'épargne.